The long walk

the surfer statue

It was an afternoon off to spend with the kids. It was a super sunny and warm day for it being the end of November. I drove past the ocean on my way home from work and I knew that I wanted to go back.. and we had the time. After eating lunch with Max we headed to the beach. The goal was to walk from the Manhattan Beach Pier to the Hermosa Beach Pier (3.4 miles) – something I used to do on a regular basis when I was in my early 20’s. It was a somewhat ambitious walk to do with the kids, but we do some serious hiking and this was a relaxing walk. They both had tennis shoes on and I wore flip flops- I am not sure why I did not have tennis shoes on… note to self – next time wear tennis shoes for support.

Christmas Tree on HB Pier

It was a gorgeous day. There were people everywhere as we slowly made our way to the Hermosa Beach Pier. At the base of the pier was a decorated Christmas tree. We also saw our favorite surfer statue and the kids spent a good 5 minutes climbing on him.

At some point I looked over towards the ocean and saw that kids were sliding down a man-made hill of sand on saucers and other items (sledding without snow). I asked two little girls if Malina and Matteo could borrow their saucers to go down the hill. They loved it!

Manhattan Beach Pier-Lights

It was a big walk back to the Manhattan Beach Pier and because it was late afternoon we were able to see the sun set. We also saw some Christmas lights out. What we did not see were the trees on the Manhattan Beach Pier that were there only 5 days ago. Thank goodness I took the photos I did over the weekend.

Eventually we made our way home with a few stops along the way. My feet were super sore and the kids fell asleep within minutes of putting their heads to the pillow.

(day 353)

5 thoughts on “The long walk

    • Hi Larry- thanks for stopping by my blog & commenting. The kids and I are always out and about. Luckily the beach is less than 10 minutes away & it is never too cold here. Good luck with winter & Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. What a gorgeous picture of the sunset @ Manhattan Beach pier!! You’re so brave to walk from pier to pier with the kids! I haven’t tried that yet! Happy Holidays! Mary

    • Hi Mary- As usual I just thought it would be fun to walk from pier to pier without thinking it through. It was not so hard, but a little time consuming- especially considering we were going against the daylight. It was so nice to catch yet another sunset though! And perhaps I’d bring jackets next time. Anytime you all want to do this walk let me know.. it’ll be fun with you and the girls too. Have a great Thanksgiving! We are about to head out on another adventure.

Leave a Reply

