Going under the Big Top with “Cirque Du Soleil’s TOTEM”

outside the venue

I was recently contacted by a friend telling me that his show with Cirque Du Soleil would be in town. At that moment I thought it would be great to see “Totem” with Max and the kids at some point during the 6 month period that it would be in Southern California. Fast forward a few months and he notified me that he would be leaving the show at the end of the year to pursue other career opportunities. With that being said we would need to go see the show in Irvine if we wanted to see him perform. I am one of those people who just gets up and does things – so less than a week later we went to the show before all the craziness of the holidays settles in.

Once again the show is called “Totem” and it is nothing less than AMAZING. It was my first Cirque Du Soleil show, but I had spent a season ushering for the “Cavalia” horse show back in 2005 so I could view the show for free. That show was created by another gentleman from Montreal who was one of the co-founders of Cirque Du Soleil.

There was so much going on here- great artists (music, acrobatics, comedians), a great set, great atmosphere.. I could go on and on and on. Backing up a bit on this story I brought the kids and my girlfriend to the show for an early Christmas present. The kids did not know where we were going… it was another one of those surprises that I sprung on them. They had never been to the circus before – so I will say that they started out big going to the French circus. Eventually we will make it to a traditional circus too.

After the show we went backstage! My friend met us behind the scenes when the show was over. That was so much fun and very informative. It was soo nice to see him as it had been a good 12 years since we had last seen each other. He was the same and funny like always. He was great with the kids and showed us how daily life is for the performers. I took some photos and soaked up all the information that he told us. It was really fun see “Totem” and to go behind the scenes after the show. I highly recommend going to check out “Totem” if it makes it to your part of the world.

the big top


Backstage photos


backstage with friends

posing with a "frog"

monkey masks

costumes

One last shot before we left..

the big top at night

(day 349)

5 thoughts on “Going under the Big Top with “Cirque Du Soleil’s TOTEM”

    • Hi Steph, It is definitely worth checking out- down in Irvine now heading up to Santa Monica after the holidays.. You guys are probably better off checking out in OC. My kids loved it!

  1. I have always heard such great reviews about the Cirque du Soleil, I wish they came to Italy anytime soon. At the moment there is the Cirque Eloize performing right in Trieste, they are somehow related to the Cirque du Soleil. If the ticket isn’t that expensive (student’s life…!), I might go and check them out!

    • Hi Lucrezia – yes, one thing I did not mention is that the tickets are not cheap. We were able to purchase discounted ones from our friend who is in the show. He is actually Italian and leaving the show to work on an Italian television show and play a part in an American movie.

      I haven’t heard of the Cirque Eloize – will have to look that up. What are you studying in school?

Leave a Reply

