This is my life

I have noticed that I have never done an official post about ME. I am from Indianapolis, Indiana. I do not like basketball (like it is assumed most people from Indiana do), but I support IU (Indiana University) & all the sports teams from Indiana as a matter of fact. I am a true Hooiser at heart (a Hooiser is someone from the state of Indiana).

my grandmother & I

Here is a baby picture of me with my grandmother. I can tell from the window that we are at my aunt’s house. My aunt lived in Los Angeles.. so I have been coming to this city for a very long time!

family picture

I have two older brothers; I love being the youngest child. By the time I was old enough to do anything my parents were so worn out that they weren’t so concerned about what I was up to. My dad is not in the photo above- he must have been taking it. I am very lucky that both of my parents are still healthy and very active (they like to keep busy like me too)!

first communion

I have had 5 sacraments (a sacred Christian rite) – baptism, first communion, confirmation, penance (reconciliation) and marriage. I was raised in the Catholic church and we have chosen to raise my kids in the church too. I have been thinking and talking about the sacraments lately with Malina because she was studying them in school. I have also started to learn about the saints again… I must say after studying Theology in some form for 16 years I remember very little.

gymnastics

When I was younger I loved gymnastics.

My first trip out of the country was to Canada as a kid; I think I was 8 years old. I was your regular awkward teenager, and then I went off to college.

the volunteer years

After that I spent a year doing community service work to help the poor in Western New York. Ultimately I ended up back in Southern California where I stayed put until I went to live abroad in the French speaking part of Switzerland. Returning home I lived in the San Francisco Bay Area and returned back to Southern California after a year or so. And that is where I have been ever since.

Now I am older, married, and a mother of two. I love to travel and my favorite cities are Paris and San Francisco. These days I’m becoming very fond of Florence too. There has been talk from time to time about us moving to Florence where we have family, but I think we will stay put in Los Angeles until the kids are out of high school. That is a bit more about me.

(day 335)

6 thoughts on “This is my life

  1. Very nice post and it gives me much better idea of who you really are. Most of the blogs I follow don’t give out many details of their lives. I think they should it makes you more like real person instead of a virtual one. Religion doesn’t play a big part in my life so I have to ask what are sacraments

    • Hi Bob – Thanks for the compliment! It was a fun post to put together. I am not very religious myself, but find myself being drawn more to the church lately- perhaps it’s because we’ve found a church that we relate to and we take the time to attend mass at this moment.

      So I looked up the official definition of sacraments and came up with this: “The seven sacraments are ceremonies that point to what is sacred, significant and important for Christians. They are special occasions for experiencing God’s saving presence.” I think of them as special events within the church. To be truthful I did not think about the sacraments until recently when my daughter had a test on them.

Leave a Reply

