Last Outdoor Swim of the Year

pool time

After work yesterday I headed to the pool for a swim. I have to admit as much as I love to swim I did not want to go at first. I was feeling lazy. Waking up at 5:30am, blogging edits, preparing for work, putting the kids together, breakfast for Malina, driving in traffic, and then working all day can be tiresome.

The sun was out. The sky was blue. It was the last day of my swimming pass. I made myself go. And I am so glad that I went. There was a breeze in the air. The water was a little cold as I stepped in. By the end of my first lap I was warmed up – although I could feel the chill out of the water when my arms reached in and out of it.

Forty minutes later my swim was over. I sat down for a minute to take in my surroundings one last time for the year. The sun is starting to set much earlier now – the shade was everywhere. There was nowhere for me to feel the rays above before heading on the drive home. I toweled off, put on my sandals, and walked to the car glad that I had made it out for that one last swim of the year.

(day 295)

3 thoughts on “Last Outdoor Swim of the Year

    • Yesterday morning it was 57F in the morning and we had on our summer clothes. Soon it will be time to put away the shorts and wear pants. With that being said we’re supposed to have a heat wave of some sort this weekend- up to the 90’s in some areas- go figure- must be the global warming.

      • I remember LA having heatwaves in October so to me this is not unusual. My son’s birthday is this weekend and we often used to go down to LA to visit the grandparents and it always seemed to get unbearably hot at the same time, plus they didn’t have air con so I always associate LA with roasting πŸ™‚
        We put away our shorts away a little while ago, but it is still relatively mild here.
        Glad you enjoyed your swim.

Leave a Reply

