Tour Guiding Tales- New England Fall Foliage

Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Boothbay Harbor, Maine

It is that time of year that many people are making their way to New England to see the fall colors of the trees. New England includes the states of Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Rhode Island, and Connecticut. Working as a tour guide I was lucky enough to be assigned on a training tour with a group of fellow tour guides to learn about this area.

I didn’t actually see the fall colors since I trained on the tour prior to the leaves changing colors, but growing up in the Midwest I had seen many fall colors over the years. Of the many cities we visited Boston is the only one that I knew my way around- so there was a lot for me to learn and I took many, many notes. I am going to recap some of the highlights of my tour.

Beacon Hill (Boston)

Beacon Hill (Boston)

Luckily the tour started in Boston so I was on familiar ground. Having good friends who live in greater Boston I headed out a few days early to visit them. We visited Quincy Market, a few of the many old graveyards around town, the Old State House, the Boston Common, Beacon Hill, the Public Garden and Cambridge just to name a few places! There really is so much to do and see in Boston.

Vermont

Vermont

When my tour began we spent a day with a city guide showing us around before continuing on to Stratton, Vermont. Driving to Vermont there were many white tall steeple churches, charming small towns, and a stop at the Vermont Teddy Bear Company in the town of Shelburne. No stop to Vermont is complete without visiting the famous Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream Factory in Waterbury. Yummy! There really is a quite a bit to see in the state that is the same size as the country of Switzerland. I enjoyed seeing the Trapp Family Lodge as well which is a mountain resort that was inspired by the von Trapp family made famous in the movie “The Sound of Music”.

The Brick General Store

The Brick General Store

From Vermont we continued on to New Hampshire which was known for the Old Man of the Mountain, a rock formation that resembled an old man. I use the past tense for that monument because sometime after I visited here the rock formation fell partially from the mountain. I personally enjoyed a stop at the “The Brick Store” which is America’s oldest general store- there were lots of goodies and my eyes did not know where to focus since there were things everywhere to look at. We also took a ride on the Hobo Railroad around the town of Lincoln.

Portland Head Light

Portland Head Light

I really enjoyed our last destination on the trip- Maine. This state is amazing and after visiting I learned why they call it Vacationland. Being a big fan of the water I enjoyed seeing the boats on the Portland Harbor and the Portland Head Light Lighthouse. The buoys for the lobster traps had amazing colors and the lobster was soo yummy.

Our trip ended back in Massachusetts, but not with a visit to the L.L. Bean clothing store’s Flagship store in Freeport (Maine). All I can say it is good to have money saved for this stop- so many options of what to buy here and with the cool breezes and New England feel it is hard not to buy a fleece or two.

Touring New England in the fall is a win, win situation. There is so much to do and see and the colors are amazing – everywhere.

A few more photos

Swan Boats- the Public Garden

Swan Boats- the Public Garden

Boston, Massachusetts

Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream Factory

Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream Factory

Trapp Family Lodge

Trapp Family Lodge

Vermont

(day 294)

2 thoughts on “Tour Guiding Tales- New England Fall Foliage

  1. Can’t wait to visit New England in the Fall. As I shared recently on another blog, one of my ambitions is to eat Maine lobster in Maine! Love this post Tieshka, boy, you have really travelled 🙂

  2. Hi Sherri, you will not be disappointed when you make it your way to the East coast of the US for the fall colors. Eating lobster in Maine is such a fun thing to do- so tradational and authenic.. clam chowder is good too!

Leave a Reply

