“The Adventures of Pinocchio”

wood shop 1

Last night I began reading a chapter book to the kids. We only have a few to choose from so it was an easy choice to pick “The Adventures of Pinocchio”. It was not until I was married to Max that I learned that the wooden marionette (puppet) named Pinocchio is Italian. He is from the region of Tuscany (Tuscana). Visiting Florence (Firenze) you can find Pinocchio souvenirs everywhere. On our last trip to Florence while checking out the newsstand in the train station I purchased a copy of the English translation of the book by Carlo Collodi (pen name for Carlo Lorenzini).

Here we are two years later and are I have finished reading the Forward and Chapter 1: “How it happened that Mastro Cherry, carpenter, found a piece of wood that wept and laughed like a child”. I am so ready for this adventure myself, forget the children! Okay, let me rephrase that, I am glad that they will learn the real story of Pinocchio as children (as will I as an adult). I love the Disney version as well, and yes, we definitely have that 1940 classic movie as well.

Malina may not have read every day all summer as was requested on her report card, but I will be reading every night for the next month the story about a wooden puppet who became a real boy after many mischievous adventures around Northern Italy starting back in 1881.

wood shop 2

(day 251)

2 thoughts on ““The Adventures of Pinocchio”

  1. Pinocchio is one of my favorite childhood stories! We’ve watched the Disney movie and rode on the Disneyland ride many times!! We own the book – Disney version and still need to read it with my kids (same age as yours!). I’m jealous, I wish I had the original version from Italy! And these are beautiful pictures of your daughter with Pinocchio!!!!

    • Hi Mary, thank you for commenting on my post! Pinocchio is a wonderful story to share with your kids. I will gladly loan you my Italian/”English” version of the book when we complete. We read chapter 2 last night and I am enjoying having that time before bed to sit down and read to the kids… perhaps a new family tradition!!

Leave a Reply

