Bamboo Rafting in Jamaica

bamboo rafting

I was lucky enough to visit Jamaica one time with some friends for a week. It was only a 5 hour flight from Los Angeles until I arrived to a beautiful paradise. I will be sharing some of my experiences from this trip for the next day or two, but by far my favorite day trip included visiting the Martha Brae River to go bamboo rafting.

posing with our driver

We hired a driver for the day to take us here and a few other places around the island. Here is a photo of our driver and I relaxing with a fruity drink before our river cruise tour began.

our rafting captain

the locals

the locals (2)

animal harmony

Our rafting captain took us on an hour cruise covering three miles on a beautiful afternoon. My friends and I had a blast. I loved seeing the locals on the land as we made our way down the river. One of my favorite moments was when I saw a cow and a bird standing next to each other in complete harmony.

guiding the raft

Eventually I had to give steering the raft a try myself and I am glad to say that I did not flip it over!! If you are ever in Jamaica I would highly recommend taking some time to experience the river cruise first hand.

(day 229)

2 thoughts on “Bamboo Rafting in Jamaica

  1. Tiki: That looks like such a blast! I swear you travel more than anyone I’ve ever known. Where haven’t you gone!? It’s amazing you had those backpacks on such a skinny narrow raft and it never flipped over — incredible!

    • Stacey, I definitely love to travel- there is so much to see and experience. Most of my travel has been limited to the USA and Europe– dreaming of going to Asia and Australia mostly.. don’t know when it’ll happen- but if we go down under at least we can crash with my brother who is currently living there!

Leave a Reply

