I am all partied out!

the kids- party #1

This past weekend was a weekend full of parties. I had relaxed the weekend before and thank goodness because there was no time to relax this weekend. Having kids I find that we constantly have parties to go to. I actually only commit to going to parties of close friends of either the kids or myself, otherwise it is just too much.

I did learn my lesson to never commit to going to two parties on the same day from experience. I tried that out last year with party #1 starting at the beach at 11:00am and party #2 starting at 3:00pm in the city. The kids fell asleep on the drive to location #2 and we didn’t make it home until after 7:00pm that night. Luckily party #2 was for one of my friend’s kids and I was able to socialize with adults there, eat a good dinner, and drink a beer while the kids enjoyed themselves too. I was wiped out when the evening ended.

So this weekend we had two parties over two days which I thought would be better than two parties on the same day. It was better, but only slightly! Saturday we headed to a mother/daughter tea party that my friend held for her daughter’s 5th birthday. I personally loved the theme since I am a big tea drinker (I do not like coffee). It was so beautifully and creatively decorated. The kids and I had a lovely time. Oh yes, my little Matteo joined us as well for the girl’s party since Max could not look after him. Luckily he is only 4 years old and loves to be with girls and go to girl parties.

After the party we had to begin preparing for party #2 the next day which was a baby shower that I was co-hosting. I forgot how much work it is to throw a party. Wow, so much to do, and for some reason never enough time to finish everything. I am happy to say that as of now both kids have decided to skip having parties this year and opted for trips to amusement parks instead. Yeah for mommy!!

By 9 o’clock in the evening we were home from the day out partying, eating dinner, and shopping for prizes for the games I was organizing. The next day we were up and out of the house by 8 o’clock grocery shopping for more items and picking up the cake for party #2. The party was a great success and everyone in my family had a great time in addition to the guests of honor. Mission accomplished.

Eventually making our way home driving alongside the beach I wanted to take a nap like my little munchkins who were sleeping in the back seat; not an option. Arriving home I had a beer and fell asleep on the couch until it was time to go out for dinner. After this experience I have come up with yet another rule for myself- don’t commit to going to a party one day and host one the next- it is just too much. I wonder what lesson I will learn next!

time for tea

(day 227)

5 thoughts on “I am all partied out!

    • Hi Sherri, you’re right “fun but exhausting”. I try to remember that they will only be young for so long and one day they will be driving everywhere themselves … and then I’ll probably wish them to be little again!

      • Yes, that is true! But it is hard to remember that when you are rushing about so much! Enjoy these days with your young children, they are so precious, but, as you say, just don’t do 2 parties on the same day again 🙂

  1. You are a quick learner Tiki !
    I made a tea party for my daughter’s Sweet 16 and I never worked so hard in my life – other than for my own wedding! I’m still recovering From the tea party and that was last year…

    • Hi Stacey- going through all the effort for your daughter is great- if not for you than your kids is a close second. 🙂 I’m so into going to the amusement park instead of doing a party- lots less work and a different kind of fun.

Leave a Reply

