Learning how to ride a bike

pumping the bikes

I am in the process of learning something big, how to ride a bike. Okay, let me clarify. I know how to ride a bike; it is the kids that are learning. Malina is almost 7 years old now and Matteo is almost 4.5 years old. Both are experts at riding bikes- that is with training wheels! Both need to learn how to do it without them now. We finally found the time to go out with them and take away one of the training wheels a few weekends ago.

It was a successful trip to the beach. Malina worked on balancing and Matteo learned that by leaning to the side where the training wheel still is he could easily bike. We weaved our way across the people on the sidewalk and went back and forth for an hour. That was lesson one. Matteo immediately asked to have the training wheel put back on so he could ride more comfortably. We have to schedule the next lesson, but I look forward to them learning how to bike as the summer goes on. I know soon enough we will be spending hours at the beach riding up and down the strip. In the meantime if you have any tips on how teach kids how to ride a bike without training wheels feel free to share them with me.

Matteo at large

Malina at large

break time

the beach

(day 221)

4 thoughts on “Learning how to ride a bike

  1. Hm. I’m going to try that single-training-wheel trick. At present, we have raised the training wheels up (there’s a setting) so the bike wobbles a bit (but not too much). I’ve also considered going balance-bike style, removing wheels and peddles to focus on balance before returning the pedals… but I couldn’t get the pedals off…

    • Hi, someone else told me to remove the pedals to try balance bike style as well.. but I’m not too handy so I thought I’d have difficulty to remove them and didn’t even try. Unfortunately we haven’t had a lot of time to devote to this ‘rite of passage’ event, but will get it done by the end of summer. Good luck to you too!

  2. Riding bikes at the beach is a big deal with my family so I really enjoyed looking at this post. I still remember the panic I felt as a little girl when my parents took the training wheels off my bicycle for the first time!

    • Hi Stacey, I’m glad this post brings back fond memories. I’m looking forward to years and years of riding bikes at the beach with the kids- it sure helps now that we live so close to the beach. Next time I contemplate taking off both of Malina’s training wheels and going for it. I’ll be sure to give you an update!

Leave a Reply

