Paso Robles Girls Weekend!! (California)

the tap room sign

I can’t believe it has been 2 weeks since my girls’ weekend in Paso Robles, California (central California). I had soo much fun. My day started dropping off the kids at camp and daycare. My son Matteo was not happy that I was leaving him for the weekend and had to be pried off of my leg so I could go. I was going to miss my little rug rat, but mommy definitely needed some time to be with the girls (without my kids).

I drove past the beach in Los Angeles and 3 other occasions on my drive north up the coast. I made my way there in 3.5 hours with the weather rising 30 degrees (F°) as I turned inland towards Paso Robles. After visiting the Firestone Walker Brewery I made my way to my hotel, the Best Western Plus Black Oak. We had originally planned to stay in a condominium downtown when our group was 5, but relocated to the hotel when our numbers dwindled to 3. We also had originally planned to rent a limousine to go wine tasting, but in the end opted for “The Wine Line” shuttle to take us around. It was an intimate group and I have to say it ended up being the perfect group for this trip.

the pool

While I waited for my friends to arrive from Northern California I went for a dip in the pool and enjoyed swimming a good number of laps considering it was not a lap pool. Around 20 laps later I had visitors and slowed down eventually taking a break to enjoy the cooler down sun.

 

When my girlfriends arrived we caught up in the hotel over a few drinks before continuing on to dinner at the Firestone Walker Tap Room. I had a delicious short rib dinner while the other two had fish and chips and grilled salmon. It was a delicious meal. I have to admit I was exhausted after dinner and quickly fell asleep at the hotel while the other two talked. I am definitely one of those ‘early to bed early to rise’ type of people. And sleeping early was just what I needed with the fun day that laid ahead of me wine tasting.

outside dining @ the tap room

(day 207)

Leave a Reply

