The Beauty of Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa

Mission San Luis Obispo

I am so excited to share my experiences of visiting 3 new missions (off of my list of never visited missions) during my “girl’s weekend” getaway that I returned from last weekend. It was my goal prior to the beginning of the trip to see 4 missions that I would drive by on the freeway during my vacation. I am glad to say I reached this goal. I discovered on my trip to Central California that I have become an official mission nerd! I will not be able to rest until I visit them all and currently I have seen 15 of the 21 missions in California! Can you say awesome?

Mission San Luis Obispo

I wanted to write about 2 of the 4 missions that I saw today, but I have so many photos to share that I am going to write over the next three days about the 4 missions I saw – each with its’ own beauty and personality.

Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa is located in the heart of the town of San Luis Obispo. I drove from Los Angeles to here without a break which took 3 hours. My phones navigation application was not working at the time so I relied on my written directions that gave me an exit from Highway 101 to take and a street address of the mission. Luckily I easily located the mission and a parking space.

Father Junipero Serra

a wooden cross

a fountain

Mission San Luis Obispo was founded in 1772. It is the 5th of the 21 California missions that were built by the Spanish friars. There was a nice statue of Father Junipero Serra in front of the mission. I also saw a wooden cross and a peaceful fountain in this area too.

mission grounds

flags

lawn chairs

I loved that the mission is a focal point of downtown. There were people on the grounds relaxing and flags proudly swaying in the wind. People were even tanning on the grass – absolutely lovely!

a bride and groom

I even caught a bride and groom about to get married!!

wall art

the pews

wall art 2

Inside the church

the museum

the museum 2

The museum

the garden

The garden

an oven

An oven

mission  bells

mission bells 2

Mission bells

Visiting Mission San Luis Obispo was a real treat. I really enjoyed taking it all in with photos and I enjoyed just living the moment. I will return here, next time with my family I hope.

(day 201)

2 thoughts on “The Beauty of Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa

Leave a Reply

