Tour guide tales: England – here’s what I saw (part I)

The Golden Fleece Pub

A cute pub- York, England

During my tour guiding days I was lucky enough to train on a tour around the British Isles. I had been to London a few times by that point, but never to the countryside of England – and definitely not to Scotland and Wales. I was there as an observer taking notes and pictures in case I was ever called back to run the tour for the company I was working for. In the end they never assigned me to work here.

Tower Bridge

Buckingham Palace

The first few days of the tour were spent wondering around London. We did a bus tour with the group highlighting the most popular spots of the city including Buckingham Palace, The Tower of London, The Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey and Big Ben. The tour was great because we had a local tour guide jump onto our tour bus and give us inside tips about the city. I personally have always enjoyed Covent Garden (shopping and eating area in the West End) and Kensington Palace (where Lady Diana lived back in the day before she passed). I spent time in these places on my own as I arrived to London a few days before the tour began and had time to visit familiar spots and a few new ones too.

I fell in love with the English countryside on this tour. We headed out of London and visited Cambridge and York. We left the country for Scotland eventually crossing back into England to visit the town of Grasmere in the Lake District. I still remember picking up a cute Beatrix Potter inspired Peter Rabit braclet that I wore for years from this area. Today I would like to focus on some of the sights that I saw on this portion of my tour in England.

Cambridge

Cambridge

Bootham Bar

York Minster

Clifford's Tower

The town of York

The Lake District (1)

The Lake District (2)

The Lake District town of Grasmere

(day 180)

2 thoughts on “Tour guide tales: England – here’s what I saw (part I)

  1. My visit to London in Aug. 1985 included lunch at a pub called the Slug & Lettuce (tagliatelle pasta & my 1st – and last warm beer); Brit Rail side trips to Brighton Beach; Bath; Stratford Upon Avon; Warwick Castle; and a red-eye train to Edinburgh for their annual festival – the only sunny day in the 1.5 weeks!

    • Hi Stacey, be sure to check out my blog from today where I talk about Stratford-upon-Avon. I never liked the warm beer in England, but adapted as needed in the local pubs. I absolutely love all the cute names of them all !!!

Leave a Reply

