If I Had A Million Dollars….

album cover

I love the band the Barenaked Ladies. I first heard their music during my time as Jesuit volunteer living in Western New York, Buffalo to be exact. They are a Canadian band of 4 members currently, but spent most of their years as a group of 5. I still listen to their kid friendly music frequently in the car. The other day I overheard my daughter Malina singing one of their more popular songs. The song is called “If I Had A Million Dollars”. I wondered what she would do with $1,000,000.00 and just had to ask her. Here was her reply:

If Malina had $1,000,000.00 she would buy her dad fancy clothes. She offered to buy me fancy clothes, but I was not interested in that and a requested to trip to Paris instead. She said she would buy herself fancy clothes and a house. She said she’d buy her brother Matteo fancy clothes. I told her that he does not need fancy clothes because he grows too quickly and ruins all of his clothes.

If Max had $1,000,000.00 he would buy a house or fund a trip for his family (us four in America and those in Italy) to stay at the Italian beach for one month every August as he once did as a kid. He also would be interested in going somewhere tropical in the winter time- how about Bora Bora he suggested.

If Matteo had a $1,000,000.00 he would buy a golden coin made of chocolate.

Now if I had a $1,000,000.00 I would stop working full-time and take a part-time job, or just volunteer at the kids’ school. This way I could spend more time with my family. I would buy a house for my parents to live in Los Angeles and be closer to us. I would take a trip.. maybe somewhere I love or somewhere new. I really want to go visit the beaches in Thailand, but prefer to visit here without the kids. With that being said I guess I would like to return to Europe, perhaps for a whole summer.

Years ago in my early 20’s when I listened to this song on my Walkman heading to the bus stop I had visions of what I would do with $1,000,000.00 and changed the lyrics to the song some while daydreaming. I still have visions, only they have changed to include my family. What would you do with a million dollars?

Lyrics to “If I Had A Million Dollars”

If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
I’d buy you a house
(I would buy you a house)
If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
I’d buy you furniture for your house
(Maybe a nice chesterfield or an ottoman)
And if I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you a K-Car
(A nice Reliant automobile)
If I had a million dollars I’d buy your love

If I had a million dollars
I’d build a tree fort in our yard
If I had million dollars
You could help, it wouldn’t be that hard
If I had million dollars
Maybe we could put like a little tiny fridge in there somewhere
You know, we could just go up there and hang out
Like open the fridge and stuff
There would already be laid out foods for us
Like little pre-wrapped sausages and things

They have pre-wrapped sausages but they don’t have pre-wrapped bacon
Well, can you blame ’em
Uh, yeah

If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you a fur coat
(But not a real fur coat that’s cruel)
And if I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you an exotic pet
(Yep, like a llama or an emu)
And if I had a million dollars
(If I had a a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you John Merrick’s remains
(Ooh, all them crazy elephant bones)
And If I had a million dollars I’d buy your love

If I had a million dollars
We wouldn’t have to walk to the store
If I had a million dollars
Now, we’d take a limousine ’cause it costs more
If I had a million dollars
We wouldn’t have to eat Kraft Dinner
But we would eat Kraft Dinner
Of course we would, we’d just eat more
And buy really expensive ketchups with it
That’s right, all the fanciest ke… dijon ketchups!
Mmmmmm, Mmmm-Hmmm

If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you a green dress
(But not a real green dress, that’s cruel)
And if I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you some art
(A Picasso or a Garfunkel)
If I had a million dollars
(If I had a million dollars)
Well, I’d buy you a monkey
(Haven’t you always wanted a monkey)

If I had a million dollars
I’d buy your love

If I had a million dollars, If I had a million dollars
If I had a million dollars, If I had a million dollars
If I had a million dollars
I’d be rich

**If you’ve never heard the song and are interested you can click here for a You Tube video.**

(day 178)

2 thoughts on “If I Had A Million Dollars….

  1. Love that song!! Thanks for introducing me to them – a lot of great memories! If I had 1 million dollars, my dream isn’t as exciting – pay off my house and my parents and then hopefully open up our restaurant/bar with what ever is left – but it is exciting to me!

    • Jen, I still remember the time I drove down to San Diego after a day of work to see one of their shows with you and Heather at 4th & B. After the show I drove back to LA. Craziness!! I’m glad I could introduce you to such a fun group.

      Nice way to spend the money! I think my list was based on have 2 or 3 million actually.. hehehe.

Leave a Reply

