Fast speeds at Laguna Seca Raceway and on the freeway (Monterey)

Laguna Seca Raceway

I recently returned from a great family vacation to Northern California. I had the best time spending time with my family and friends vacationing in beautiful Northern California. I thought I would begin to recap our trip with our visit to Laguna Seca Raceway which is a track that holds races for both automobiles and motorcycles. This was our first stop on the way to Monterey from the Peninsula.

Before I detail this most interesting tourist spot I wanted to share a story about other fast speeds that I encountered as our vacation begun. We left Los Angeles in the afternoon and made our way to the outside of the city limits crossing over a mountain pass called ‘The Grapevine’. Climbing down the mountain car speeds can be extreme. I warned Max, who was driving, not to drive fast many times. The California Highway Patrol (CHP) has a station at the bottom of the pass and I pointed this out to him- make sure you don’t drive fast here.

I didn’t want to be a nagging wife but I told him 5 minutes later that there was a cop under the bridge, slow down. To make a long story short about 5 minutes after my last and final reminder to him to slow down we heard a police car’s siren behind us. We pulled to the side of the road. As I went about my business grabbing snacks by my feet for the kids the cop approached the car on the passenger’s side. He said “Get your hands up” and I thought “What the heck”. Apparently he thought I might be pulling out a gun or something (I am so anti-guns). Max saw him in the side view mirror reaching into his holster to grab his gun if needed. I showed him what I had in my hand by waving my Goldfish cracker’s bag out of the window. Hehehe, I am definitely not an outlaw. Max proceeded to get a ticket for driving over the speed limit in an excess of 24 miles, yes I said 24 miles. To say the least he followed the speed limit from that point on.

Entrance to the track

The Raceway Sign

I had never heard of Laguna Seca Raceway, but the night before our departure for Monterey Max asked where it was and asked if it was possible for us to stop there. Lisa, my friend, and I had no objections. We are always up for something new. We made our way to the raceway climbing up the hill after exiting the 101 Freeway. It is quite the complex. In addition to the 2.238 mile track there are campgrounds, playgrounds and numerous other adventures.

Max

the kids looking at the track

We parked next to the gift shop and explored the track. It is nothing like the Indianapolis 500 Motor Speedway where I am from. There is a lake and a large track and stands were not up everywhere like in Indianapolis. We saw and heard motorcycles zooming around the track. Exploring the garage area we also learned that they hold a driving school where you can drive at fast speeds and experience thrill driving.

Posing by the walkway

Crossing the walkway

Exiting the walkway

view from walkway

We made our way across the walkway to get a closer look at the action. The motorcycles zoomed by as we soaked up the sun. My visit to Laguna Seca Raceway, now called Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, was a nice experience. I am glad that Max suggested that we check it out. We were lucky to catch the motorcycles in action and next time I hear about a race going on there I can say, “I’ve been there!”

The track

the track (2)

the track (3)

(day 132)

2 thoughts on “Fast speeds at Laguna Seca Raceway and on the freeway (Monterey)

    • Winnie, I couldn’t believe that Max was driving so fast with the kids in the car! I took the opportunity to speak with the officer about how the radar gun works. I never speed- I don’t want to pay for a ticket.

      It was an interesting way to start vacation to say the least.. only wonderful things happened after that!

Leave a Reply

