St. Patrick’s Day Dinner

Shepard's Pie

Yesterday I wanted to be brave and cook in the kitchen. I have stated before that I am not that good at cooking. I am good at warming things up and basic cooking. In the spirit of St. Patrick’s Day we made cookies and I made shepard’s pie (English or Scottish in origin- I know not exactly Irish, but pretty close, and I wasn’t about to attempt to make Irish Soda Bread).

First we went to the grocery for the ingredients. Arriving home I started by cooking the meat and boiling water for the potatoes. Next I peeled the potatoes. The kids patiently waited while I did my prep work for the shepard’s pie.

Then it was time to make the cookies. I have low expectations on my cookie baking skills. You have to think that the end result is good. At the grocery we could not locate shamrock cookie cutters so I figured we could use some Christmas ones I had at home and add green sprinkles. I opened the package of cookie dough and gave the kids a blob each.

Rolling the dough

The roller didn’t work too well, everything stuck to it.We used our hands instead to flatten the dough.

Cookies on the baking sheet

The kids made one cookie sheet with shapes. By chance I found some mini cookie cutters that someone had given me with shapes (animals and mushrooms). The dough was laid out on the sheet. We did a second sheet just with balls, I was tired of all the shaping!

I was shocked when I checked in the oven. As the cookies baked they had lost their shape! Oh my goodness.. I will have to look into how you’re supposed to maintain the shape of cookies one day. It made me feel good though that I had done the second sheet just with balls, those cookies came out enormous!

The finished product

After the cookies cooled down I moved them to a plate and we added the green sprinkles. Awesome taste, that’s what matters, right?? And we had fun making them.

Back to the shepard’s pie, I don’t use a recipe, I just make it. The mashed potatoes came out AWESOME. I actually can make some things, although when I make mashed potatoes for Max they are always instant. I layered the potatoes, meat and corn (two to three layers of each). I topped it with cheddar cheese and put it in the oven. The dish came out superb! Too bad I’m the only one in the house who eats it; I guess I know what I’m eating for dinner all week.

Green lemonade

Green beer

Our meals and desserts were topped off with green lemonade and green beer. I think I’ll attempt cooking a big meal again late summer. Max is such an excellent cook that I’ll let him continue to take on that task.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

(day 97)

4 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day Dinner

  1. Love this post! I enjoyed reading about how you made the cookies. It looked like the kids had fun. Next time if you don’t want the dough to stick, spread a bit of flour on the surface before putting the dough down to roll flat, and also coat the rolling pin with flour. Not sure why they lost their shape. The only thing I can think of is maybe that particular dough was just meant to be drop cookies, meaning you were just supposed to plop a spoonful down and they were just supposed to spread out into circles. It may have had a higher butter content than is meant for the cookie cutter ones. With cookie cutter cookies, more flour is added to give it more structure. Then it needs to be chilled in the fridge for at least an hour before rolling out. Maybe we can make Easter cookies with the kids together. Also, I love Shepard Pie. Wish I could try some. For some reason my family wouldn’t eat it either. The kids don’t like mashed potatoes, and Alex doesn’t like ground beef. I used to love to make corned beef and cabbage. Alex won’t eat that either. Oh well. Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

    • Yes, let’s make cookies when I visit !! Then I can see how it’s supposed to be done! And thanks for the tips– we did none of these things (surprise, surprise) The kids always have fun in the kitchen, yes, they just spend more time watching Max put something fabulous together (and he gives them an Italian lesson at the same time). I will definitely have him cook a good Italian dinner when we visit (and we can head to North Beach for the ingredients again- that is always so much fun). Can’t wait for spring break!!!

  2. I’m impressed that you make a great pie without a recipe. Awesome, job! I hope the kids and Max at least tried it. The pic of Matteo rolling the dough is cool. Future chef in action? :o) Happy St. Patty’s Day!

    • Thank you Mia. I can cook a few dishes and for those dishes I don’t use a recipe. Go figure! The kids don’t eat mashed potatoes so they won’t eat it. Max isn’t a big fan of cheddar cheese or canned corn… it seems that of the dishes I like to cook no one really eats them- so I just don’t cook at all. And yes, Matteo has a big interest in cooking, that and sports. I wouldn’t be surprised if he goes into one of those fields. Happy St. Patrick’s Day to you too!

Leave a Reply

