Is it safe for Women to Travel Abroad Alone ?

Malina

I am saddened by the recent news of a New York City woman, mother of two, murdered in Turkey. I first saw the story on Saria Sierra, 33, reported missing in Turkey a little less than a week ago on ‘Yahoo.com’. She was an amateur photographer who had scheduled a trip abroad to Turkey with a friend. Her friend ended up cancelling on the trip and she continued on alone. The day she was supposed to fly home she did not make the flight. Her husband waited for her at the airport and she did not show up. Apparently she was abducted and killed. Looking on the internet three days ago I saw her outcome. I had so hoped she would be found alive.

I have done quite a bit of traveling alone. Some travel has been in the United States, but the majority of my travel alone was abroad. I spent time in Western Europe, specifically France, Switzerland, Italy and England. My period of traveling alone was in the 1990’s and early 2000’s and I felt quite safe traveling by myself. Being outgoing I made many friends (both locals and fellow travelers), did day trips with new friends, and had many great conversations. Traveling alone was an incredible learning experience, and it was nice to be able to do whatever I wanted whenever I wanted. I was not always the smartest single traveler, but I would say traveling alone you should make sure that you make safe choices.

I haven’t traveled to Eastern Europe alone on any of the other continents (less North America) so I can’t offer any first hand views on traveling there alone, but once again I stress making safe choices goes a long way.

I now have a young daughter. I would love for her to spend time abroad when she is older with family and possibly study in another country. I do not know at this point if it will be safe for her to travel alone. Perhaps she’ll have to travel with her younger brother and still have the international experience. It is a shame that she may not have the same options that I did. For now I must give my condolences to the family and friends of Saria Sierra, she is no longer with us, but I’m sure her memory will live on.

(day 58)

2 thoughts on “Is it safe for Women to Travel Abroad Alone ?

  1. I do travel alone often. Being alone outside is dangerous, so we must be on guard to many things around us. I lived in east Europe several years ago. And it is quite safe there. But I do not go out alone after the dinner time particularly I definitely look like a tourist. Lol so, just don’t go to a place where may put us in danger with high possibilities.

Leave a Reply

