I still have a record collection

Some of my 33 Albums

I grew up in the 80’s when vinyl was king. My older brothers had a few 8tracks (before tapes), but I never used them. My first record was a 33 RPM (revolutions per minute) album, Michael Jackson’s “Thriller”, and my last record was a 45 RPM the Bangles “Walk Like an Egyptian”. As a pre-teen, teenager and later as an adult I added to my record collection. Belonging to the Pearl Jam fan club I collected members only 45s. Being a U2 fan I made sure to collect all their albums and collected some fun imports in record shops and from friends living out of the country.

Eventually most music stores stopped selling records. At that point I collected at garage sales and some specialty music stores that had records. Just last week I saw that another local music store will be closing its doors soon. For that matter most music stores are closed now.

I still have my record player from 8th grade. In my 20’s my parents gave me their old car back in Indiana. The adventure was flying out with a friend from California, meeting up with another friend, and then driving back to California with a car loaded with tons of stuff, including my record player. Since there was no more space in the car whoever sat in the front passenger seat had to hold my record player!! I am so serious. Max doesn’t like my junky record player and has promised one day to buy a retro-record player that they now sell. I’m okay with that, and then I’ll start playing the old tunes more!

My vintage record player sits in a cabinet now coming out a few times a year. Tonight will be a party night in our house, it needs some love; I can’t wait! I also have an antique record stand compliments of my father with my complete collection alphabetically organized. For fun I’m going to share the names of artists from my 33s that I have collected over the years, please take the trip with me as I go down memory lane:

ABC, Bryan Adams, Pat Benatar, Blondie, The Cars, Chicago, Phil Collins, John Cougar, Crosby, Still & Nash, Crowded House, Culture Club, The Cure, Dire Straits, Duran Duran, Fleetwood Mac, Genesis, Debbie Gibson, GoGo’s, Corey Hart, Whitney Houston, Huey Lewis & the News, Billie Idol, INXS, Billy Joel, Cyndi Lauper, Julian Lennon, Madonna, Don McLean, Men at Work, George Michael, The Monkees, New Edition, Billy Ocean, Robert Parlmer, The Police, Spandau Ballet, Cat Stevens, Thompson Twins, U2, Van Halen, Jody Watley, Wham!, Paul Young, and ZZTop. My movie collection includes: Back to the Future, Grease, The Lost Boys, Mary Poppins, Pretty in Pink, Stand By Me, Who’s That Girl, The Wiz, and Vision Quest. Lastly I have one Christmas record Woody the Woodchuck.

I have a ton of tapes sitting somewhere too, and must admit I had the hardest transition to the world of CD’s. After a year struggling I eventually made the move and now love them just like everything that preceded them. I do still struggle with iTunes and not having an actual copy of my music, but I treat it like a 45 record and if I’m looking for just one song it works! Thanks for reading today as I travelled down memory lane. Right now I have a ton of memories flooding through my head about records and my youth.

(day 33)

Leave a Reply

