Welcome to parenthood- birth of my daughter Malina

DSCN1899

Ever since I was a little girl I wanted to have kids, multiple kids. Max also wanted to have kids. After a little more than a year of marriage we were happy to learn that I was pregnant. I did the usual: researching a good ob-gyn within my medical group, taking prenatal vitamins and buying a bunch of pregnancy and baby books. We did lamaze classes and prepared a nursery for our baby. I didn’t want to know if we were having a girl or boy and luckily Max had the same view.

We had lots of yellow and green baby clothes and names for both a girl and boy. Finding names was a challenge and time consuming. In the end I went on the internet and searched Hawaiian names as we were married in Hawaii and both love that state. The name Malina means “soothing or calming” and we liked the sound of it. Yeah, we were 50% done!!! For a middle name we decided to do something Italian and Donatella was chosen. The boy name was much easier to come up with and we chose a traditional Italian name Leonardo Matteo.

Arriving to the hospital early in the morning for our scheduled Cesarean section we had no clue what was in store. I had never had an operation or a child. Everything was successful on all accounts. At 7:33am Malina Donatella was born. From that point forward I knew that I would do anything for my child. Max’s Leonardo Di Vinci t-shirt that he wore that day would have to wait for another day to have a match. Our lives have never been the same.

The no sleep, learning how to breastfeed, and how to take care of such a little baby began. I was lucky to have four and half months of maternity leave before returning to work. We started out as super cautious parents and slowly eased into parenthood. It has been a most rewarding experience and I have loved seeing my daughter grow from a small baby to a school aged child. She may not be so “calming or soothing” as her name originally suggested, but she is a spunky and loving child that I am so happy and proud to be the parent of.

Topic for tomorrow: The profession of a tour guide, behind the scenes and all that jazz

(day 8)

Leave a Reply

