“The Wine Line” Does Not Disappoint!

the wine line

It was Saturday morning just before 11:00am and we were off for a fun day visiting the wine country of Paso Robles. Although I am not the biggest wine drinker I enjoy wine tasting. It’s fun to go out and talk with friends while sipping wine in a beautiful setting. I have gone tasting in Napa, Sonoma, San Ynez (Santa Barbara), Temecula (Riverside County- California), Beaune, France (wine capitol of Burgundy) and I have to say Paso Robles rocked!

What I loved so much about Paso Robles is that it is very mellow and not overcrowded. There are over 200 wineries in the area so there are many options for you to choose from. I did not pick where we went wine tasting, I just went with the flow. Where we ended up were excellent choices. Each place was so different that I will tell you a bit about them all, surprise, surprise.

the wine line

My friends chose a few places and our wonderful driver, I believe his name was Will, made some excellent suggestions as well. Before I go into detail about where we went I must take a moment to say that “The Wine Line” rocks! We paid a flat fee for transportation and picnic lunch and received so much more. Our driver took us over to the tasting rooms, found us spaces in the front introducing us to tasting staff and returned 40 minutes later to bring us to our next destination. The Wine Line has agreements with the various wineries that gave us free tastings, discounts and even behind the scenes tasting at one winery. To say the least I highly recommend this company.

the entrance to midnight

inside midnight

Bacchus

the grapes at midnight

the barrels at midnight

We started at Midnight Winery. It was on our winery map, off the main road, and had an excellent name. Arriving we were the only ones there and had personal attention almost our whole visit. I learned that Midnight was the 29th winery in the region and I end up buying a bottle of red wine called Full Moon here.

veris winery

veris winery 2

wine and cheese tasting

veris winery 3

the ben hogan label

golf clubs

Our next stop was Veris Winery where the private label of Ben Hogan is produced. We ended up here because another group who were on the Wine Line with us stopped here prior and the winery looked very cute from the outside. You may wonder who Ben Hogan is? I sure didn’t know that he was a famous American golfer from the1930’s- 1950’s. We did a very nice wine and cheese tasting here. In addition to wine tasting at Veris you can also go out and hit a few golf balls on the grounds.

Tomorrow I will share my experiences of visiting three other wineries in the area: Peachy Canyon, Grey Wolf Cellars and Rotta Wineries.

close up of grapes

(day 208)

2 thoughts on ““The Wine Line” Does Not Disappoint!

  1. I am partial to Paso since we live just 90 minutes away! We are going over next week and some of the places you visited we haven’t so I’m adding them to our list of stops. Peachy Canyon is probably one of our favorites…we are members there and love them. Glad I found your blog.

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by my blog & following me! Have a wonderful time in Paso. I only hope it isn’t too hot. Just today Peachy Canyon wrote a comment on my July 7th blog where I mentioned their winery. Lots of wineries to explore in Paso with there being more than 200 in the area. I seriously think Paso is one of the best wine regions to explore in California. You are lucky to be close enough to visit from time to time without going too much out of the way. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

