The perfect lunch and exploring San Luis Obispo (California)

the history center

I went to San Luis Obispo to visit the mission and I found so much more. What a cute town it is. It was founded in 1850 and is located on the Central Coast of California approximately half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco. In this town I wandered the streets, saw cute shops, and ate a wonderful lunch.

SLO Co Pasty Co.

SLO Co. Pasty Co. (2)

I walked past a few restaurants and opted for the SLO Co Pasty Co. (San Luis Obispo County Pasty Company). Pasties originated in Cornwall England and are an uncooked dough filling that is stuffed with meats and veggies and other similar items. The restaurant had a lunch special going on and looked cute. It met beyond my expectations. I ordered a chicken pot pie pasty with a side salad and a $4.00 pint of Smitwick’s Irish Red Ale. That meal was excellent and a great beginning to my girl’s weekend away from the family!

After lunch I wandered around downtown visiting the History Center which was once the Carnegie Library building and currently is a museum. I enjoyed walking the streets and doing some window shopping. Later when I saw my girlfriends in Paso Robles we contemplated making this town our next destination for a girl’s weekend and I look forward to returning and continuing to explore this charming town.

downtown SLO

downtown SLO storefront

another restaurant- SLO

SLO Co Museum of Art

(day 204)

6 thoughts on “The perfect lunch and exploring San Luis Obispo (California)

    • Hi Mary. It was my first time stopping in SLO and I really enjoyed it. Why don’t you join us for girls weekend next year!! I would love to have you join us.

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. I can’t believe that I have been driving past such a nice town for so many years on my way to San Francisco only stopping for the first time this summer! I look forward to returning and seeing more that San Luis Obispo County has to offer.

      • Check Cambria and San Simeon, especially during whale season. I haven’t had time to go see the whales, but I hear it’s extraordinary. BTW I love your blog

Leave a Reply

